Pulau Perhentian

Pulau Perhentian


Pulau Perhentian is situated about 20 km to the south east of Kuala Besut. It lies in the jurisdiction of the Besut District Office.

Pulau Perhentian consists of a group of islands namely:
a) Pulau Perhentian Besar
b) Pulau Perhentian Kecil
c) Pulau Susu Dara and other smaller islands.

The islands total area covers approximately 1,392.15 hectares. They have plenty of golden sandy beaches although they are mainly made of hills and cliffs which can reach from 70 up to 300 metres high.

Public Facilities And Infrastructure

Almost all the public facilities provided here are at Pulau Perhentian Kecil where most of the population are. Amongst the facilities found here are a primary school and a kindergarten, a mosque, a government health clinic, a post office, a community hall, a fire station and some 2 storey shops. Other facilities provided are the public jetties at Teluk Pauh and Teluk Keke and another main jetty for the villagers' use.